Most helpful review

1 Year Chronology of a Stressful Build

I signed my contract in March 2014 and started my own chronology just for my own reference. This was my forth house built during my life, so I was not new to the building process. I too looked at their model and a few houses under construction and decided to go with...
View full review
View full review
56 comments
#2190803

Schumacher went ahead and put up garage doors that didn’t line up (fit properly) at our house- the rain and whatever else gets right in

View more comments
ID
#648861 Review #648861 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Weaverville, North Carolina
Service
Schumacher Homes House Construction
Pros
  • Detailed contract costs
Cons
  • Process
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$8000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Schumacher Homes Refused to fix warranty issues then voided the warranty

Schumacher Homes Refused to fix warranty issues then voided the warranty
Update by user Jul 18, 2022

I called customer service. They are so nice. But, they referred me back to the Warranty Team who has dropped the ball.

Update by user Jul 17, 2022

Additionally, we did confirm with our lawyer that we can state all the facts of this situation. As long as we're truthful. All my statements are...

View full review
View full review
ID
#3768624 Review #3768624 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Barbecue, North Carolina
Pros
  • Initial meetings
  • Design
  • Built what i wanted
Cons
  • Poor management
  • Lack of workmanship
  • Warranty deception
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
I want the warranty manager disciplined. I want mold and foundation remediation.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They changed the columns.

Schumacher Homes - They changed the columns.
Schumacher Homes - They changed the columns.
Look at the cedar columns that Schumacher Homes of Akron, Ohio installed. The original design called for white columns. They cheapened the house and ruined their own design. It definitely takes away from the aesthetics of this home. Located in New Matamoras, Ohio.

User's recommendation: Don't accept below par.

View full review
ID
#3662403 Review #3662403 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Copley, Ohio
Cons
  • Cheap materials with high mark up
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: I have some unresolved issues

Update by user Jul 21, 2022

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with full refund. Compensation provided to address the gap between specs and final build..

Update by user Jul 21, 2022

I have an update on my complaint.This complaint has been addressed and resolved to my satisfaction as of Wednesday, July 20, 2022.Working with Jonathan Slaughter, the GM for Schumacher Homes out of Benson, NC, we have addressed the issue by way of monetary compensation...

View full review
View full review
Resolved
ID
#3539807 Review #3539807 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Benson, North Carolina
Service
Schumacher Homes House Construction
Preferred solution
refund of the overcharge for the foundation work

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

How do I get an email sent to Paul Schumacher personally?

My husband and I decided on a home, went to every meeting, picked out our colors the whole process we were told we had to do. We were pre approved for est 500k. We had 2 property walks that were canceled due to an employee being ill with COVID. We were compassionate and waited over a month for another walk date. Then we are brought back to the office (2 hour drive) to be told that the company is no longer building in Scioto and Lawrence Counties. BUT they were going to honor our contract and go ahead with our build. We asked if we could go ahead and be put on the “Build” list as we were certain there would be no problems with the loan. WE were denied. Per your companies advice we went with your lending agency. We submitted our information to the lending team NO LESS than 5 times, due to misplacement or claims that they never received our info. We FINALLY made it thru the closing of the loan, which states in our closing statements that dig date will be no later than March 1, 2022. My husband received an email from Dan Santry that our dig date will not be until May if even then. This is complete unacceptable customer service. Quite frankly I feel we have be lied to so much that they aren’t even sure what is true. My father in law has end stage cancer and my husband stands very close to being deployed AGAIN with the United States ARMY. We need this house built badly as we are going to move his father in with us. We will be paying you over 777,000.00 dollars in total and we are being treated like this from the start?? I am a Director of Nursing over several facilities so I am very well aware of how a business should be ran and how it actually is ran. I feel extremely moved to speak with Mr. Schumacher because I feel that no one would ever volunteer this kind of information to him for obvious reasons. It is his business and I believe he should be made aware of issues like this. I believe I deserve at least some communication after being approved for almost a million dollar home. EXTREMELY disappointed. Please respond and help us make building our dream home a joy instead of such a headache.
View full review
1 comment
#2137833

Run! Check out www.SchumacherVictims.com. The delay may be a blessing in disguise.

ID
#3309292 Review #3309292 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They over promise and vastly under deliver

Schumacher Homes - They over promise and vastly under deliver
Schumacher Homes - They over promise and vastly under deliver
Schumacher Homes - They over promise and vastly under deliver
We signed a contract to build a 3599sqft ranch home in late 2020. We broke ground on 3/31/2021. Schumacher boasts of their guaranteed move in date policy. Most of the sales meeting revolved around that. 150 days from breaking ground was the mantra. The contract...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2134697

oh my gosh.. same thing here..

no communication, just tell you what you want to her with no follow thru. just same covid stories.. shortage's.

i can pretty much go to home depot and get anything i need .. but they cant

ID
#3304168 Review #3304168 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Harrison, Ohio
Pros
  • Design
  • Service up to contract signing
  • Initial meetings
Cons
  • Lack of communication
  • Not true to word on fixing issues
  • Indifference
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Price reduction

To warn others

Schumacher Homes - To warn others
Schumacher Homes - To warn others
Schumacher Homes - To warn others
Schumacher Homes - To warn others
Schumacher Homes - To warn others
Schumacher Homes - To warn others
The outside of the house is beautiful. The inside is terrible. So many mistakes. My dream home became a nightmare home. Quality that they so highly talk about is BS. Wrong cabinets were put in. They were suppose to be gray but are a brown. My general contractor just...
View full review
View full review
Featured
ID
#3298426 Review #3298426 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Maiden, North Carolina
New Reviewer

Complaint

I am very unhappy with my HVAC system that was installed in my new home. It is extremely loud and several attempts by the contractor to fix it has not worked. I am also very unhappy with the propane fireplace that was installed. It does not provide any heat and its basically Decoration. I feel it is a poor cheap product. I was led to believe that it would do better than it does.
View full review
ID
#3268645 Review #3268645 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Salisbury, North Carolina
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Buyer beware

Signed papers to build April 13th of this year. We were told we would be in our home by Christmas! It has been nothing but one excuse after another. There are between 5 and 10 homes all around us here on Oak Island that started after us and have been completed, sold, and families living in them.

User's recommendation: Do not go with Schumacher!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View full review
1 comment
#2108292

You should check out www.SchumacherVictims.com

ID
#3189944 Review #3189944 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Promises made by warranty manager and not kept.

Had a home built two 1/2 years ago right before Covid. There were quite a few issues i had to battle and still are most handled. One of my big issues is my back patio. Horrible quality wood and workmanship. Wood twisting on wood, wood terribly discolored--did not put any thing on wood to treat because warranty manager told me they were going to replace wood and redo. Kept telling me oh they going to deliver your wood where you want them to put. No wood has shown up yet. Every call there was an excuse. The old warranty manager got fired, and the new one tells me they will not be fixing the patio or replacing. Horrible. I will take pictures and video of the patio and if this is what Schumacher wants potential customers to see then so be it. I would not want my name associated with this patio. Nails sticking out, wood looks like it's 20 years old, poles twisting--manager says that is what is supposed to happen. DO I LOOK LIKE AN IDIOT?. They take advantage of you, once they have their dollars, the customer's service stops, and they ignore you and stop delivering quality service. Many lies told about the window being replaced because it was leaking, that was a lie, finally the fourth person they sent out found the leak, but now the outside window is battered with a lot of nails because they kept trying to find the leak. SMH. They finally sent someone out to putty and paint to fix the window issues. Let's see how that goes. But MY PATIO IS AN EYESORE. I NEED SOMEONE TO REPLACE THIS MESS.

User's recommendation: Let someone else build your outdoor patio.

View full review
1 comment
#2108293

You should check out www.SchumacherVictims.com

ID
#3060547 Review #3060547 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbia, South Carolina
Pros
  • Beautiful homes styles that allows customers to customize
Cons
  • Not true to word on fixing issues
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Horrible damage due to home construction.

Poor, poor quality builders. I built with them years ago and I'm replacing nomal wear and tear. With that said, my siding contractor has found so much damage where their builters never constructed properly. Water damage under siding that was not applied correctly. Because of water damages repair updates have cost much more to redue the building mistakes and damages. They initially made mistakes that were caught by me in the building phases. The subcontractors are not true carpenters nor trained craftsmen. They get whomever they can hire cheaply to charge ridiculously. No trained craftsmen nor supervised applications. I find the work that should have been done, UNACCEPTABLE!! Fair warning go elsewhere.

User's recommendation: DO NOT USE. SMOKE AND MIRRORS.

View full review
ID
#3047830 Review #3047830 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Canton, Ohio

Wouldn’t recommend them for a doghouse!!

Run far away from these clowns. Their corporate M.O. is to take advantage of you and squeeze you out of money. Broken promises and the contract prevents you from suing even in cases of fraud, negligence and incompetence. Run away fast.

User's recommendation: Run away fast.

View full review
1 comment
#2173738

Tried to contact them TWICE to inquire about building with Schumacher. I haven't heard anything back.

This alone tells me all I need to know.

Apparently, they are unresponsive even if they don't have your money yet. I'll look elsewhere.

ID
#3032419 Review #3032419 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Inability to complete and customer service
Preferred solution
Treble damages.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

To help consumers...

Original review updated by user Aug 07, 2021
Be advised, Schumacher doesn't use State Licensed Builders to build your home... One "Builder" I talked to was hired from 84 Lumber, and another "Builder" I interviewed was previously an A/C tech. If your considering using Schumacher, always ask to see your "Builders" builders License before you give them any earnest money. A.B. Summers SC Licensed Builder

User's recommendation: Ask to see a Builders License.

View full review
2 comments
#2086517

Check out https://www.SchumacherVictims.com

#2055951

Hello, ive worked with Schumacher on the contractor side. If the state requires a contractors license.

Every contractor on site will have one. Yes, you have to have insurance, workers compensation, all the fun paperwork. Now why is there so many issues with contractor? Because the majority of contractor will not work with them.

They are cheap, and it takes forever to get paid. Example-a bad dig will put a tremendous amount of work on the next contractor poured walls. This is alot of extra money's involved extra hand digging, extra concrete to level footing, taller walls, extra labor, more stone ect. Everything is approved, because you wouldnt have a foundation (this isnt a want its a need).

When its time to pay. Its a fight. Contractor run from this and refuse to do anymore work. Trust me from the other side its a headache.

Also, please get your soil tested. "Bad ground conditions" could be a awful disaster in the future. Nobody will take responsibility for your soil conditions.

Leaving the homeowner to pay. Kinda for new builder that last one.

View more comments (1)
ID
#2750636 Review #2750636 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Apology

This place is horrible, do not use them they pro

We love our home!! Our concrete work is awful at best. The 36 ft back porch is cracked from one end to the other. We moved in January 2020 and we contacted them in March. Driveway has pockmarks one end to the other. Tom said "it's an eye sore, but there isn't anything they will do about it. We're still figuring g out how to proceed.
View full review
2 comments
#2110925

Do you still love you home? Checking in after some time has passed.

We are thinking of building with this company.

I know issues with homes often don’t reveal themselves until a bit later. Thanks for the feedback!

#2113927
@PissedConsumer2110925

I would not recommend them to anyone. We are into the 12th month from breaking ground and there is no end in sight. They also have questionable billing practices, no or poor communications and poor quality of work

View more comments (1)
ID
#2712970 Review #2712970 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio

Terrible experience Arrogant and rude leadership

We gave our deposit to begin, had spent HOURS picking finishes, adding customizations to our floor plan. Time for the important kick off BUILDERS meeting. Gen Manager said builder won't be in the meeting. We asked to reschedule- we got an email with the subject line *** we knew that was a sign- we lost most of our deposit but we dodged that bullet! HORRIBLE business practices. Terrible quality and really aweful custmer service.

User's recommendation: RUN AWAY do not walk. Find a better builder!

View full review
ID
#2672490 Review #2672490 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mooresville, North Carolina
Cons
  • Poor management
  • Lacks accountability
  • Cheap materials with high mark up

Absolutely horrible warranty response

After numerous and I mean numerous attempts at various levels of Schumacher we cannot seem to get warranty repairs completed. All of these are from when we moved in last December and still pending!! Not sure what it takes to get their attention even after writing a letter to their General Manager and owner.

User's recommendation: Find another builder.

View full review
ID
#2574652 Review #2574652 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Swansea, South Carolina

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article